Drivers Earn Awards in School Bus Safety Roadeo
Posted 05/06/2018 10:22AM

On Saturday, April 28, the Kansas City Area Missouri Association for Pupil Transportation (KCAMAPT) sponsored the annual Kansas City Regional Safety Competition or “Road-eo” held at Belton High School. Six area districts with 39 contestants attended the competition where bus drivers competed against each other individually and on teams of three, in 10 different driving skills, a written test and a defective bus test.

North Kansas City Schools' own Tammy Smith (team captain) received 1st place in the category of “Experienced Driver” and conventional style bus and Nicole Stegink received 1st place in the category of “Rookie Driver” and conventional style bus.

North Kansas City Schools Transportation had three teams in attendance and, when team scores were tabulated, district teams swept the results:

  • Heidi Ray Emery, Rhonda Fine, Tammy Smith (Team 1): 1st Place
  • Nicole Stegink, Dawn Searcy, Teresa  Kelley (Team 2):  2nd Place
  • Chris Mackey, Anne Lewis, Debra Zvacek (Team 3):  3rd Place

These drivers will complete with other drivers from across Missouri in the State Safety Competition at Lake Ozark on June 21-22.

Faith Endsley is a recent 2018 graduate of Staley High School and her story is a miraculous tale of conquering extreme challenges and thriving against all odds.


Now Showing


© 2014 North Kansas City Schools       2000 NE 46th Street       Kansas City, Missouri 64116-2042       P: (816) 321-5000      F:  (816) 321-5001

Nationally & State Accredited

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite